Archive | 2:39 pm

baltic dispatch

30 Dec

It’s wet and cold.

Maybe we’ll get snow on Tuesday, for New Years. Maybe.

Tomorrow is of course the big celebrations, New Years Eve. We’ve been invited to friends who have a huge house they built themselves – sauna etc. I’m looking at a late night. I don’t operate well if I haven’t had a decent night’s sleep, so I expect to be on auto-pilot New Years Day.

It’s almost a year since I last came to Tallinn. Things change every time I come. New high-rise buildings – all glass and steel. New Cafés and restaurants, clubs and bars. People are spending more, but having spoken to people, it’s unclear that they’re earning much more. Capitalism, eh?

I have a few things I want to write about. It’s just a case of finding the time. Maybe tonight. Mrs. tyger is taking the cubs to her friends, so I may get chance to get them down. I’m reading Confessions of an Economic Hit Man, and my head is reeling. There are things I want to discuss, eventually. Also there is a new film by Morgan Spurlock called What Would Jesus Buy that I want to see (plus Annie Leonard’s short animation). I have written about debt culture so many times, but things are now coming to a head.