Gamey times

26 Mar

Edge reports that US video game hawkers, GameStop, have increased sales despite our current economic clusterfuck. A surprise? Well, not really.

GameStop — an American gaming chain — has proven with $8.8bn sales, and a 24% year-on-year increase in business, that when times are tough, we have a habit of turning to smoting Zombies .

Now if you’re an appalling gaming whore like me, it’s arguably always Halo-time. But you have to admit, while difficult times usually, in my experience at least, put people off spending, stress and economic uncertainty tends to make people slaughter each other online all the more.

Hell, if we can’t afford that trip to Agent Provocateur or a weekly night out at a fancy restaurant, the least we can expect is a session with the Master Chief, a pastrami-sandwich, and frag-fest of the highest order .

I mean, that’s cheap (well, sort of).

6 Responses to “Gamey times”

  1. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk March 27, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    Aaron, I cannot believe that you write such appalling gamist nonsense.Your denigrating the whole gaming community by reducing it to simplistic over emphasis on first person shooters is a disgrace.As a gamer myself I am completely offended that you chose to drag us down to the lowest level without even the mention of a strategy game or RPG.Shame on you and all your ilk. You should apologise straight away for your offensive and misguided ramblings. 😉

  2. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk March 27, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    Aaron, I cannot believe that you write such appalling gamist nonsense.Your denigrating the whole gaming community by reducing it to simplistic over emphasis on first person shooters is a disgrace.As a gamer myself I am completely offended that you chose to drag us down to the lowest level without even the mention of a strategy game or RPG.Shame on you and all your ilk. You should apologise straight away for your offensive and misguided ramblings. 😉

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com March 27, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    Heh. I have had a lot of time to consider it. And I stand by the original post. It wasn’t sexist. It. Just. Wasn’t.And if people are so outraged by my attitude towards their complaints, they should wonder why?Lumping me in with every tired misogynistic cliché hurt, and it was based on a complete misrepresentation. Also, I think the opportunity to trash me was just too tempting. I am sorry if some of the language caused some offence, but I would write the post again if I could turn back the time.The person who called it “plain fucking offensive to every reader of this blog” was wrong. Many woman, and everyone is equal remember, saw through the playful use of language and saw context. Which is why I posted the above. Context.Now, I’m finished with the issue. A lesson learnt, but possibly not the one some intended to teach.

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com March 27, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    Heh. I have had a lot of time to consider it. And I stand by the original post. It wasn’t sexist. It. Just. Wasn’t.And if people are so outraged by my attitude towards their complaints, they should wonder why?Lumping me in with every tired misogynistic cliché hurt, and it was based on a complete misrepresentation. Also, I think the opportunity to trash me was just too tempting. I am sorry if some of the language caused some offence, but I would write the post again if I could turn back the time.The person who called it “plain fucking offensive to every reader of this blog” was wrong. Many woman, and everyone is equal remember, saw through the playful use of language and saw context. Which is why I posted the above. Context.Now, I’m finished with the issue. A lesson learnt, but possibly not the one some intended to teach.

  5. danielhg@gmail.com March 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    I’M WITH THE PENGUIN, I FEEL VIOLATED AND DE-MEANED AND DEMAND THAT YOU GROW UP!Seriously though, Mad World on the Wii is awesome.

  6. danielhg@gmail.com March 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    I’M WITH THE PENGUIN, I FEEL VIOLATED AND DE-MEANED AND DEMAND THAT YOU GROW UP!Seriously though, Mad World on the Wii is awesome.

Leave a Reply

