The Apprentice Returns…

25 Mar

…and we have weeks to mull over another bunch of arrogant nitwits who’ll get shown up as incompetent charlatans.

And we wonder why this country’s in the shitter?

The Apprentice proves one thing. For the all the constant bitching about politicians on the blogosphere (and I know, I’ve done my share of it), we can be comforted in the knowledge that the cream of the commercial world are just as rubbish.

Somehow this makes me feel better and worse at the same time.

8 Responses to “The Apprentice Returns…”

  1. simosthoughts@gmail.com March 25, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    Surely the cream of the commercial world doesn’t need to make arses of themselves to get a job?

  2. simosthoughts@gmail.com March 25, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    Surely the cream of the commercial world doesn’t need to make arses of themselves to get a job?

  3. stracd@gmail.com March 25, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    What Sim-O said. This lot aren’t the cream of the commercial world. Most of them can’t even work out the economics of car-washing. I’d figured that by the time I was 10.(And as for the ones that pop up every year claiming to be ‘entrepreneurs’. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.)

  4. stracd@gmail.com March 25, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    What Sim-O said. This lot aren’t the cream of the commercial world. Most of them can’t even work out the economics of car-washing. I’d figured that by the time I was 10.(And as for the ones that pop up every year claiming to be ‘entrepreneurs’. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.)

  5. philbc03@NOSPAMyahoo.com March 25, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    And I quote :”Turnover is vanity, profit is sanity”Who coins this crap?

  6. philbc03@NOSPAMyahoo.com March 25, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    And I quote :”Turnover is vanity, profit is sanity”Who coins this crap?

  7. aaronsheath@gmail.com March 26, 2009 at 4:58 am #

    I know. When I wrote the “cream of the commercial world”, I doubled-back, but then thought to myself well they’re all usually high-fliers within their field, even if… invariably, this is sales.I started watching the first few minutes and decided I’d catch the rest on iPlayer. Who knows if this series’ got legs?I can understand that when people are thrown into a flux by being taken out of their comfort zone. Give me some month-end accounts or a factory to manage, and I have the experience and savvy to perform at a high level. Ask me to walk into a shop and sell them a widget, and I’d most definitely fail. I’m awful at cold-selling.And I think most politicians are talented. Managing a Westminster dept. must be the most almighty head-fuck. Civil servants are not known for their eagerness for change – but then they are subject to regular tsunamis of change.How does the average Westminster lackey commit to a boss that might be shuffled or sacked any day? Surely they’ve heard it all before, only to the see the good ones promoted or brought down by an unrelated scandal.I could blame the media. But the blogosphere is the media. We’re all writers now. I know our leaders are illiberal guff-merchants, but the average constituency politician – as a wise friend reminded me only yesterday – is honourable and hardworking.We should not tar all politicians with the same brush, and as well, I shouldn’t judge all commercial professionals by this shower.

  8. aaronsheath@gmail.com March 26, 2009 at 4:58 am #

    I know. When I wrote the “cream of the commercial world”, I doubled-back, but then thought to myself well they’re all usually high-fliers within their field, even if… invariably, this is sales.I started watching the first few minutes and decided I’d catch the rest on iPlayer. Who knows if this series’ got legs?I can understand that when people are thrown into a flux by being taken out of their comfort zone. Give me some month-end accounts or a factory to manage, and I have the experience and savvy to perform at a high level. Ask me to walk into a shop and sell them a widget, and I’d most definitely fail. I’m awful at cold-selling.And I think most politicians are talented. Managing a Westminster dept. must be the most almighty head-fuck. Civil servants are not known for their eagerness for change – but then they are subject to regular tsunamis of change.How does the average Westminster lackey commit to a boss that might be shuffled or sacked any day? Surely they’ve heard it all before, only to the see the good ones promoted or brought down by an unrelated scandal.I could blame the media. But the blogosphere is the media. We’re all writers now. I know our leaders are illiberal guff-merchants, but the average constituency politician – as a wise friend reminded me only yesterday – is honourable and hardworking.We should not tar all politicians with the same brush, and as well, I shouldn’t judge all commercial professionals by this shower.

Leave a Reply

