Political compass

22 Jan

Jennie’s posted about the US version of the political compass. I just took the test. Results below. As for the modest “cultural liberal” score, I think my lack of enthusiasm for welfare cost me (it’s worth pointing out that this is the US version of the test.)

My Political Views
I am a centrist social libertarian
Left: 0.19, Libertarian: 6.66

Political Spectrum Quiz

My Foreign Policy Views
Score: -6.33

Political Spectrum Quiz

My Culture War Stance
Score: -6.29

Political Spectrum Quiz

10 Responses to “Political compass”

  1. magicskyman@hotmail.com January 22, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    Have you been to politicalsurvey2005.com ? Bit of business there, like. But it’s maybe a bit out of date by now.

  2. magicskyman@hotmail.com January 22, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    Have you been to politicalsurvey2005.com ? Bit of business there, like. But it’s maybe a bit out of date by now.

  3. redlionpress@hotmail.com January 22, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    I got listed as a left social libertarian – left 6.33, libertarian 4.6. The trouble with this survey is that it is slanted to right-wing pseudo-libertarianism. If it were more balanced, say with questions about cooperatives, credit unions, worker self-management, farmers markets, abolition of corporate legal privileges and corporate welfare, etc my libertarian total would be much higher. I for one, do not like taxes or a lot of government regulation, but in a world dominated by vast corporations, and no other options given, I had to vote in favour of these.

  4. redlionpress@hotmail.com January 22, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    I got listed as a left social libertarian – left 6.33, libertarian 4.6. The trouble with this survey is that it is slanted to right-wing pseudo-libertarianism. If it were more balanced, say with questions about cooperatives, credit unions, worker self-management, farmers markets, abolition of corporate legal privileges and corporate welfare, etc my libertarian total would be much higher. I for one, do not like taxes or a lot of government regulation, but in a world dominated by vast corporations, and no other options given, I had to vote in favour of these.

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com January 22, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    asquith,Just taken it. Puts me as a free-market internationalist, which ain’t so bad. Problem is it also puts me as “pro-war”, which I’m most certainly not. I was left-wing on many issues, but right wing on tax and trade. I see the test was created by the late, great Chris Lightfoot. RIP.Larry,Interesting points. Thanks.I don’t see much difference between a government and a hulking super-national corporation. The dystopian future in Neal Stephenson’s novel Snow Crash is a warning to those who worship the faceless super-corps.

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com January 22, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    asquith,Just taken it. Puts me as a free-market internationalist, which ain’t so bad. Problem is it also puts me as “pro-war”, which I’m most certainly not. I was left-wing on many issues, but right wing on tax and trade. I see the test was created by the late, great Chris Lightfoot. RIP.Larry,Interesting points. Thanks.I don’t see much difference between a government and a hulking super-national corporation. The dystopian future in Neal Stephenson’s novel Snow Crash is a warning to those who worship the faceless super-corps.

  7. redlionpress@hotmail.com January 23, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    What a coincidence! I just started reading “Snowcrash” today.

  8. redlionpress@hotmail.com January 23, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    What a coincidence! I just started reading “Snowcrash” today.

  9. jacoblurch@gmail.com January 25, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I did the quiz found myself very much in the libertarian soft left … no big surprise there!

  10. jacoblurch@gmail.com January 25, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I did the quiz found myself very much in the libertarian soft left … no big surprise there!

Leave a Reply

