Choice, huh?

2 Jan

I just watched another of those shampoo ads.

You know the ones. The ones heavy with bullshit science and computer-generated graphics showing how they repair and nourish your hair.

Just. Fuck. Off.

Does anyone actually believe this guff?

I use L’Oréal’s ELVIVE shampoo, because that’s what my wife buys. To be honest, I’d probably use a bottle of warm cat sick if that was what she left in the shower.

For years I used to wash my hair with shower gel, until someone said it wasn’t actually for my hair too. My hair was fine. I see no real difference now I use the over-priced “proper” stuff.

Apparently my ELVIVE is “Caring Shampoo”, although I have no idea what this means. It has never talked me round when I’ve had one of my daily descents into despair. So as for “caring”, I find a pint down the pub and a natter with a mate more effective.

I also use Palmolive shower milk, because that’s what my wife buys…

I find the term milk to be a strange one for use in the bathroom. I don’t put Brylcreem in my coffee, so it’s rather strange that I should smoother myself with milk as a means to cleanse myself.

The Palmolive range also refers to itself as “Naturals”, which is odd considering it contains styrene/acrylates, which as far as I can tell is plastic. Oil is natural, I guess.

I suppose the beauty conglomerates find the legal requirements to state their ingredients a hindrance.

If they were left to their own propagandistic devices, they’d no doubt claim that their products contain such wondrous natural ingredients as grass cuttings, pixie-dust and unicorn spunk.

And all this complete cock is in the name of choice. Oh beautiful choice.

I despair, really I do.

I’m busy at the weekend, so I’ll catch you Monday.

8 Responses to “Choice, huh?”

  1. jameshigham@mail.com January 2, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    It’s a brave man who blogs on shampoo. 🙂

  2. jameshigham@mail.com January 2, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    It’s a brave man who blogs on shampoo. 🙂

  3. jacoblurch@gmail.com January 5, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Any shampoo with unicorn jizz is going to be bloody expensive methinks…

  4. jacoblurch@gmail.com January 5, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Any shampoo with unicorn jizz is going to be bloody expensive methinks…

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com January 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Indeed, but I’m worth it.

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com January 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Indeed, but I’m worth it.

  7. grahamsteed@yahoo.co.uk January 6, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    I like the fact that when you look at the ingedients there’s always this magical stuff called “aqua”. Or as it’s known in the upper echilons of science, water.

  8. grahamsteed@yahoo.co.uk January 6, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    I like the fact that when you look at the ingedients there’s always this magical stuff called “aqua”. Or as it’s known in the upper echilons of science, water.

Leave a Reply

