i have a new toy

1 May

new macbook pro :D

In preparation for my move to Tallinn, I have bought a new MacBook Pro! :o)

Specs: –
Apple Macintosh MacBook Pro
OSX 10.5.2 “Leopard”
2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB DDR2 RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 6800M GT 512MB VRAM

It’s thinner than Olga’s PowerBook and so much faster. One of the main factors was the fact that my ageing iBook had become painfully slow and no use whatsoever for photography. As Olga will be in the UK most of time, another key feature was the built in “eyesight” cam for Skype use. Just got to get used to the keyboard.

I’d also like to mention John at KRCS in Nottingham, who was excellent and did me a *brilliant* deal. Seriously, if you’re in the market for a new Mac, KRCS should be your absolute first port of call. Thanks John.

migration nation
Migration was a breeze

8 Responses to “i have a new toy”

  1. jameshigham@mail.com May 2, 2008 at 5:11 am #

    That’s the machine I’m on except that I have stayed with Tiger for now. You using Airport Extreme?

  2. jameshigham@mail.com May 2, 2008 at 5:11 am #

    That’s the machine I’m on except that I have stayed with Tiger for now. You using Airport Extreme?

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com May 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Hi James,After the recent update, I finally went with Leopard. I was going to hold out until the redesign and the new Intel chipset roll-out in Feb (or before), but the money was available now and I wanted it for my move to Tallinn. Yeah, it has AirPort Extreme, although I use a Linksys base station to feed Wi-Fi throughout the house, not an Apple one.

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com May 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Hi James,After the recent update, I finally went with Leopard. I was going to hold out until the redesign and the new Intel chipset roll-out in Feb (or before), but the money was available now and I wanted it for my move to Tallinn. Yeah, it has AirPort Extreme, although I use a Linksys base station to feed Wi-Fi throughout the house, not an Apple one.

  5. jacoblurch@gmail.com May 2, 2008 at 9:10 pm #

    Nice one. I’m sure it will stand you in good stead in Estonia. I hope your extended stay will be pleasant

  6. jacoblurch@gmail.com May 2, 2008 at 9:10 pm #

    Nice one. I’m sure it will stand you in good stead in Estonia. I hope your extended stay will be pleasant

  7. jameshigham@mail.com May 4, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    Yes, good luck with this.

  8. jameshigham@mail.com May 4, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    Yes, good luck with this.

Leave a Reply

