this blog is boring. fact

17 Apr

It seems I’m a bore.

Gus of 1820 has decided that this blog is a yawnfest and will be removed from his blogroll. I can’t say I blame him.

I just don’t seem to have the energy and vigour for political blogging that I once had. I spend most of my day getting stressed out that I can’t get a minute to myself to write, and when I do finally get the baby to bed, I’m knackered. Now Mrs. tyger has returned to working after her maternity, this working from home just isn’t going very well. Looking after two very-young kids is a full-time responsibility and I think I’d be better going back into industry and putting the kids into childcare again. At least then I’d be getting out of the house, rather than being a sulky house-bound grinch. I simply don’t have the time to “work”.

Mrs. tyger is also clearly fed-up listening to me whinge. As am I.

Also, politically, I’m not sure what I think anymore. Labour have consistently proved their incompetence and slyness. Anyone who thinks that working for the Labour Party is something of value is mistaken. The Tories, Liberals, and Labour are all fighting for the same political oxygen in the centre of British Politics. There is no ideology left in our political life, and therefore no difference between the “managers” who govern us (I would be much happier if they could actually manage, but alas…). So let’s drop the pretence that they’re different, and elect proven managers instead of partisan incompetents who couldn’t organise a cutlery draw.

My personal story wasn’t always like this, there was a time when I believed that government could be a force for good – indeed in some Northern European countries it still proves to be. So let’s be straight: the British body politic is poisoned. It’s cancerous. It’s terminal.

So thanks for the previous link-love, Gus, but yeah, I think another blogger deserves my spot. I’ll make a decision regarding continuing this blog over the next week or so.

*current mood: nihilistic*

36 Responses to “this blog is boring. fact”

  1. jimjepps@hotmail.com April 17, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    Well you’ve got a permanent spot in my rss feed. I wouldn’t get too concerned about frequency of posting or whatever – just blog when you feel like blogging and don’t when you don’t – and always on subjects that you think have some interest… I think sometimes people get too het up about their blogs.Relax 🙂

  2. jimjepps@hotmail.com April 17, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    Well you’ve got a permanent spot in my rss feed. I wouldn’t get too concerned about frequency of posting or whatever – just blog when you feel like blogging and don’t when you don’t – and always on subjects that you think have some interest… I think sometimes people get too het up about their blogs.Relax 🙂

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Hey JimJay,I just think I’m a bit low this week. Olga has the flu and I’m running around like an idiot. I just need a break.At least I can rest knowing tygerland used to be good!

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Hey JimJay,I just think I’m a bit low this week. Olga has the flu and I’m running around like an idiot. I just need a break.At least I can rest knowing tygerland used to be good!

  5. snowflakec5@yahoo.co.uk April 17, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Tyger, don’t give up entirely. Just take a break for a couple of weeks where you don’t look at anything political at all (not even the news). I guarantee it will change your outlook! Britain is actually a very nice happy place once you get away from the poison poured out by the press and you start judging by your actual surroundings and start smelling the roses.

  6. snowflakec5@yahoo.co.uk April 17, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Tyger, don’t give up entirely. Just take a break for a couple of weeks where you don’t look at anything political at all (not even the news). I guarantee it will change your outlook! Britain is actually a very nice happy place once you get away from the poison poured out by the press and you start judging by your actual surroundings and start smelling the roses.

  7. ariofarin@web.de April 17, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    What Snowflake5 said. Besides, there are more important things than blogging. Like having a contented home life.And, really, I don’t know who this 1820 guy is, but he has got balls calling people boring. And what is that che guevera icon doing in his banner? I thought normal people grew out of Che Guevera when they leave puberty.So. Stop whinging. Stop going through the motions. And do whatever it is that gives you kicks.That is… only the legal stuff of course.

  8. ariofarin@web.de April 17, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    What Snowflake5 said. Besides, there are more important things than blogging. Like having a contented home life.And, really, I don’t know who this 1820 guy is, but he has got balls calling people boring. And what is that che guevera icon doing in his banner? I thought normal people grew out of Che Guevera when they leave puberty.So. Stop whinging. Stop going through the motions. And do whatever it is that gives you kicks.That is… only the legal stuff of course.

  9. powersite@mac.com April 17, 2008 at 9:57 pm #

    You’re not alone in your feelings. The political blogosphere is a difficult place for anyone not firmly in one camp or another. Free thinkers have a rather lonely time of it, I think, but they generally make the best bloggers. So much of what gets produced now has been churned around umpteen times. And much of it is banal and trivial. Bloggers more concerned with a bit of expenses fiddling than with the major issues facing us. I am reading fewer blogs now than ever before. I’m tired of trudging through them looking for gems. But more than this (and I’m going to blog about my feelings on this later) I am convinced that blogging can be, for some people, actually harmful to their wellbeing. There is, firstly, the addictive element which makes it difficult to keep away from the monitor. Then there is the frustration and feelings of failure when you are unable to produce anything you feel is worthy.Then the feeling that, in all honesty, it doesn’t add up to a hill of beans and that the opinions of someone you don’t know, have never met and who possibly doesn’t even reveal his true identity mean absolutely nothing in the scheme of things. I started blogging when I gave up boozing and taking drugs. It was a way of occupying myself without harming myself and at a vastly reduced cost. To be honest, at this precice moment I’m struggling with the whole blogging/Twittering /Social whatsit stuff in the same way as I did when I was trying to quit my previous bad habits. It’s hard to give up because there are good things in amongst the bad but that applies to everything. In the end I will decide whether the good outweighs the bad and I think I already know what the answer will be.

  10. powersite@mac.com April 17, 2008 at 9:57 pm #

    You’re not alone in your feelings. The political blogosphere is a difficult place for anyone not firmly in one camp or another. Free thinkers have a rather lonely time of it, I think, but they generally make the best bloggers. So much of what gets produced now has been churned around umpteen times. And much of it is banal and trivial. Bloggers more concerned with a bit of expenses fiddling than with the major issues facing us. I am reading fewer blogs now than ever before. I’m tired of trudging through them looking for gems. But more than this (and I’m going to blog about my feelings on this later) I am convinced that blogging can be, for some people, actually harmful to their wellbeing. There is, firstly, the addictive element which makes it difficult to keep away from the monitor. Then there is the frustration and feelings of failure when you are unable to produce anything you feel is worthy.Then the feeling that, in all honesty, it doesn’t add up to a hill of beans and that the opinions of someone you don’t know, have never met and who possibly doesn’t even reveal his true identity mean absolutely nothing in the scheme of things. I started blogging when I gave up boozing and taking drugs. It was a way of occupying myself without harming myself and at a vastly reduced cost. To be honest, at this precice moment I’m struggling with the whole blogging/Twittering /Social whatsit stuff in the same way as I did when I was trying to quit my previous bad habits. It’s hard to give up because there are good things in amongst the bad but that applies to everything. In the end I will decide whether the good outweighs the bad and I think I already know what the answer will be.

  11. powersite@mac.com April 17, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    Oh, and Ario – I thought it was Che too but on closer examination I fear it’s some Scottish hero or maybe even (god forbid) a picture of Gus himself! Arrrrrrrgh.

  12. powersite@mac.com April 17, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    Oh, and Ario – I thought it was Che too but on closer examination I fear it’s some Scottish hero or maybe even (god forbid) a picture of Gus himself! Arrrrrrrgh.

  13. blog@davecole.org April 18, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    No, don’t stop. Reduce frequency if you must, but don’t stop. I know there’s the patter of tiny tyger paws to distract you, but you can reduce without stopping :)I want to keep reading your blog, anyway.xD.

  14. blog@davecole.org April 18, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    No, don’t stop. Reduce frequency if you must, but don’t stop. I know there’s the patter of tiny tyger paws to distract you, but you can reduce without stopping :)I want to keep reading your blog, anyway.xD.

  15. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 18, 2008 at 2:50 pm #

    Thanks y’all. But I’m okay.Just going to take a break for a while.

  16. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 18, 2008 at 2:50 pm #

    Thanks y’all. But I’m okay.Just going to take a break for a while.

  17. rwsymonds@hotmail.co.uk April 19, 2008 at 10:32 pm #

    “Politically, I’m not sure what I think anymore”If only for that reason, Aaron, take a ‘brain holiday’ – go up to Snowdonia with the family; turn off the electricity for a week (except for cooking & heating); avoid TV, Radio, Newspapers & Internet for 2 weeks.Whatever you do, and however long it takes, come back refreshed.By the way, I think you are more a libertarian than a liberal 😉http://gatwickcity.phpbb3now.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=456

  18. rwsymonds@hotmail.co.uk April 19, 2008 at 10:32 pm #

    “Politically, I’m not sure what I think anymore”If only for that reason, Aaron, take a ‘brain holiday’ – go up to Snowdonia with the family; turn off the electricity for a week (except for cooking & heating); avoid TV, Radio, Newspapers & Internet for 2 weeks.Whatever you do, and however long it takes, come back refreshed.By the way, I think you are more a libertarian than a liberal 😉http://gatwickcity.phpbb3now.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=456

  19. chickyog@gmail.com April 20, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    I thought we’d cured Blogger’s Malaise back in ’05. This must be a new strain. The fight goes on.Just back away for a bit Aaron. Go out and do something else and wait for the ideas to come to you instead of chasing them. Keep a pen and paper close on the off chance something occurs.Come back soon, mind.

  20. chickyog@gmail.com April 20, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    I thought we’d cured Blogger’s Malaise back in ’05. This must be a new strain. The fight goes on.Just back away for a bit Aaron. Go out and do something else and wait for the ideas to come to you instead of chasing them. Keep a pen and paper close on the off chance something occurs.Come back soon, mind.

  21. manic@bloggerheads.com April 20, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    “*current mood: nihilistic*”What that mean? Can you explain word to me?;o)Never be afraid to take a break or go at your own pace when you return. Only idiots think that blogging is a ‘must post every day’ thing.

  22. manic@bloggerheads.com April 20, 2008 at 8:55 pm #

    “*current mood: nihilistic*”What that mean? Can you explain word to me?;o)Never be afraid to take a break or go at your own pace when you return. Only idiots think that blogging is a ‘must post every day’ thing.

  23. mattwardman@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 3:12 am #

    Aaaargh. The captcha thinks that 0 and 4 is not 4, and deleted my comments.Summarised:Taking a month off myself. Good Luck. Wonder if Casting the Net has blunted your enthusiasm

  24. mattwardman@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 3:12 am #

    Aaaargh. The captcha thinks that 0 and 4 is not 4, and deleted my comments.Summarised:Taking a month off myself. Good Luck. Wonder if Casting the Net has blunted your enthusiasm

  25. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 7:29 am #

    Richard,I think I’m a liberal. I think I have libertarian tendencies, but I’m a Liberal (not really a leftie though, but I think I’m gettin bogged down with tags).But Thanks for the nice words.Justin,Yeah, thanks. I do carry a Moleskine most of the time, but I do need to get out more. Cheers.Tim,Nihilist? Not sure. I once heard Iain Dale use it. I was trying to sound clever. Thanks for calling me on it and making me look a tit. ;o)))I’m not taking a break. But yeah, we’re slowing down (here at least).Matt,I enjoy the Netcast. Some days I could do without it – but Sunny’s cool if I’m busy – but most days I like getting dirty in the blogosphere.Thanks y’all, but let’s move on. :o)

  26. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 7:29 am #

    Richard,I think I’m a liberal. I think I have libertarian tendencies, but I’m a Liberal (not really a leftie though, but I think I’m gettin bogged down with tags).But Thanks for the nice words.Justin,Yeah, thanks. I do carry a Moleskine most of the time, but I do need to get out more. Cheers.Tim,Nihilist? Not sure. I once heard Iain Dale use it. I was trying to sound clever. Thanks for calling me on it and making me look a tit. ;o)))I’m not taking a break. But yeah, we’re slowing down (here at least).Matt,I enjoy the Netcast. Some days I could do without it – but Sunny’s cool if I’m busy – but most days I like getting dirty in the blogosphere.Thanks y’all, but let’s move on. :o)

  27. iain@iaindale.com April 21, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    Tygerland, I hope you will continue. We may not always agree but I always find your blog a good read. I think every blogger suffers from blogger’s block from time to time or becomes demotivated. Certainly happens to me.

  28. iain@iaindale.com April 21, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    Tygerland, I hope you will continue. We may not always agree but I always find your blog a good read. I think every blogger suffers from blogger’s block from time to time or becomes demotivated. Certainly happens to me.

  29. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    Hi Iain,Thanks for the kind words.And good luck with the new project.

  30. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    Hi Iain,Thanks for the kind words.And good luck with the new project.

  31. rwsymonds@hotmail.co.uk April 21, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Is it any wonder no-one knows what to politically think anymore, when the Euston Group/Henry Jackson Society resurrects itself to reap more obfuscation amongst the ‘left’, liberals. or whoever ?http://commentisfree.guardian.co.uk/alan_johnson/2008/04/the_euston_moment.html

  32. rwsymonds@hotmail.co.uk April 21, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Is it any wonder no-one knows what to politically think anymore, when the Euston Group/Henry Jackson Society resurrects itself to reap more obfuscation amongst the ‘left’, liberals. or whoever ?http://commentisfree.guardian.co.uk/alan_johnson/2008/04/the_euston_moment.html

  33. Jherad@suggestation.com April 21, 2008 at 2:43 pm #

    Don’t go.Blogosphere needs more bloggers who are liberal without feeling the need to blindly cheerlead for any particular party.

  34. Jherad@suggestation.com April 21, 2008 at 2:43 pm #

    Don’t go.Blogosphere needs more bloggers who are liberal without feeling the need to blindly cheerlead for any particular party.

  35. simos.email@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm #

    Don’t go. Just slow it down.

  36. simos.email@gmail.com April 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm #

    Don’t go. Just slow it down.

Leave a Reply

