tygerland.net revamp

24 Mar

Unless you’re reading this blog via a reader, you’ll have noticed that I have ditched the previous template. The old template was optimised for WordPress 2.0 and things are moving on, and WordPress is evolving constantly, so I have *finally* updated WP (to 2.3 initially, 2.5 to follow) and decided to the increase download speed by simplifying the theme.

The new theme is called Barthelme, and is by Scott Wallick. I’ll drop Scott a donation is a week or two.

Anyway, I hope you like it, and I hope the increased page-loading is appreciated. Thanks.

PS. You may notice that the archive text has gone a little screwy, lots of “£” and other symbols, this is due to the WP update. And is one of the reasons why I have taken so long to update the platform, I have tried before and had to roll-back and restore a previous release of WordPress.

7 Responses to “tygerland.net revamp”

  1. blog@davecole.org March 24, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    The tab order isn’t quite right – the CAPTCHA and website fields are reversed so it’s going name -> email -> CAPTCHA – > website -> comment.On another note, I do like the new theme for the most part except that the text runs too far across the screen; I find it easier to read if it’s in a narrower column.That having been said, I subscribe to your RSS and it is your blog…xD.

  2. blog@davecole.org March 24, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    The tab order isn’t quite right – the CAPTCHA and website fields are reversed so it’s going name -> email -> CAPTCHA – > website -> comment.On another note, I do like the new theme for the most part except that the text runs too far across the screen; I find it easier to read if it’s in a narrower column.That having been said, I subscribe to your RSS and it is your blog…xD.

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com March 24, 2008 at 11:47 pm #

    Yeah, there are some issues I need to iron out.Thanks for the input. 🙂

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com March 24, 2008 at 11:47 pm #

    Yeah, there are some issues I need to iron out.Thanks for the input. 🙂

  5. mail@cassilis.co.uk March 25, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    I like it but like Dave I’m a bit of an RSS / Reader nut so I don’t always see peoples templates or design choices. Something I might remedy soon…..

  6. mail@cassilis.co.uk March 25, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    I like it but like Dave I’m a bit of an RSS / Reader nut so I don’t always see peoples templates or design choices. Something I might remedy soon…..

  7. Finally awake April 9, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    […] things first, I have upgraded this blog to WordPress 2.5. After reading of Tyger’s upgrade experiences, I decided not to attempt it myself. Justin of Webbleyou kindly sorted it out for me. He has helped […]

Leave a Reply

