video games cause high-school massacres, apparently

22 Feb

Christian conservatives. Gotta love’em.

(p.s. this video accompanies my *first* podcast… to go live sometime over the weekend, once I get everything sorted. Worked very hard today getting the first one ready. Am good. Deserve a present. πŸ˜€ )

UPDATE: Actually it may be Monday before the podcast goes live. It’s my first attempt and I’m not quite sure how it’ll all come together. I have recorded the first “draft”, but I want to do a few and get comfortable. Thanks.

14 Responses to “video games cause high-school massacres, apparently”

  1. anticant@hotmail.co.uk February 23, 2008 at 3:37 am #

    Thing about those guys is they’re neither Christian nor Conservative!

  2. anticant@hotmail.co.uk February 23, 2008 at 3:37 am #

    Thing about those guys is they’re neither Christian nor Conservative!

  3. mike@mikepower.net February 24, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    When I Twittered you the recommends about studio mics the other day I went back to check the piece I posted on USB mics on my blog. In it I said I was in the process of setting everything up for a podcast and to ‘watch this space’. The date of the post? About 2 years ago! 😦 And about 2 weeks ago I Twittered that I would definitely get my first podcast produced during the coming week. Bah! Procrastination or what? So I put it on public record here and now. I will, probably, if all goes well and I find the time, produce my first podcast sometime in the not too distant future. There! — Commitment πŸ™‚

  4. mike@mikepower.net February 24, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    When I Twittered you the recommends about studio mics the other day I went back to check the piece I posted on USB mics on my blog. In it I said I was in the process of setting everything up for a podcast and to ‘watch this space’. The date of the post? About 2 years ago! 😦 And about 2 weeks ago I Twittered that I would definitely get my first podcast produced during the coming week. Bah! Procrastination or what? So I put it on public record here and now. I will, probably, if all goes well and I find the time, produce my first podcast sometime in the not too distant future. There! — Commitment πŸ™‚

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com February 24, 2008 at 1:05 pm #

    Hi Mike.Yeah, I’m just experimenting – but I love the medium. My first MP3 is a little wooden, so I want to re-record. Hopefully tonight if I can get some time.I *think* I know what I’m doing on the publishing side. I’d like to serve an Ogg copy at some point too, but that’s probably just my anarchic side showing through!

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com February 24, 2008 at 1:05 pm #

    Hi Mike.Yeah, I’m just experimenting – but I love the medium. My first MP3 is a little wooden, so I want to re-record. Hopefully tonight if I can get some time.I *think* I know what I’m doing on the publishing side. I’d like to serve an Ogg copy at some point too, but that’s probably just my anarchic side showing through!

  7. mike@mikepower.net February 24, 2008 at 1:47 pm #

    Apple do a very good three-part seminar on podcasting, worth checking out, if you haven’t already:http://seminars.apple.com/seminarsonline/podcast/apple/index.html

  8. mike@mikepower.net February 24, 2008 at 1:47 pm #

    Apple do a very good three-part seminar on podcasting, worth checking out, if you haven’t already:http://seminars.apple.com/seminarsonline/podcast/apple/index.html

  9. jennie.rigg@googlemail.com February 24, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    I’m too lazy to listen to podcasts, even by people I’m a huge fan of (like Mitch Benn). I know why. They just seem like so much EFFORT. Everything I read (including this blog) is either emailed to me or syndicated to my Livejournal; I have radio four on practically all day (save only to turn it off for the Archers)… I’d have to switch the radio off AND go to another website to listen to podcasts!

  10. jennie.rigg@googlemail.com February 24, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    I’m too lazy to listen to podcasts, even by people I’m a huge fan of (like Mitch Benn). I know why. They just seem like so much EFFORT. Everything I read (including this blog) is either emailed to me or syndicated to my Livejournal; I have radio four on practically all day (save only to turn it off for the Archers)… I’d have to switch the radio off AND go to another website to listen to podcasts!

  11. aaronsheath@gmail.com February 24, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    How is a podcast more effort than reading a blog, eh? You can do all sorts of other jobs while listening to a podcasts. I’m even getting a little iPod shuffle (£32) to use at the gym.If you don’t have a MP3 player, then fine, I don’t listen to podcasts at my computer either. Radio Four? Absolutely. It’s the only radio channel I listen to (apart from a couple of shows on R2). But they release most of the stuff I like (The Now Show, News Quiz, In Our Time, Start the Week, From our own Correspondent, various politics shows) as podcasts, meaning I have R4 on demand. Add to this, independent podcasts featuring the best news and comment on politics, technology, sports, music, and culture.I even have feeds that download video casts – such as Diggnation – to my Smartphone to watch if Mrs. tyger is watching Russian TV.I’m a smart cookie, see? πŸ˜€

  12. aaronsheath@gmail.com February 24, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    How is a podcast more effort than reading a blog, eh? You can do all sorts of other jobs while listening to a podcasts. I’m even getting a little iPod shuffle (£32) to use at the gym.If you don’t have a MP3 player, then fine, I don’t listen to podcasts at my computer either. Radio Four? Absolutely. It’s the only radio channel I listen to (apart from a couple of shows on R2). But they release most of the stuff I like (The Now Show, News Quiz, In Our Time, Start the Week, From our own Correspondent, various politics shows) as podcasts, meaning I have R4 on demand. Add to this, independent podcasts featuring the best news and comment on politics, technology, sports, music, and culture.I even have feeds that download video casts – such as Diggnation – to my Smartphone to watch if Mrs. tyger is watching Russian TV.I’m a smart cookie, see? πŸ˜€

  13. mike@mikepower.net February 25, 2008 at 1:57 am #

    No need to go anywhere to listen to podcasts. Subscribe and they will appear in itunes or any decent newsreader and be available at the click of a mouse πŸ™‚ I thought I was lazy but not being bothered to listen to something really worthwhile because you have to turn the radio off!? Do what?

  14. mike@mikepower.net February 25, 2008 at 1:57 am #

    No need to go anywhere to listen to podcasts. Subscribe and they will appear in itunes or any decent newsreader and be available at the click of a mouse πŸ™‚ I thought I was lazy but not being bothered to listen to something really worthwhile because you have to turn the radio off!? Do what?

Leave a Reply

