you learn something new every day

15 Dec

Stephen Fry has a tidy piece on Firefox extensions. Apparently, they *should* work okay with other Gecko-based browsers (such as Camino, Flock, etc.). Excellent – it’s only the excellent foxmarks extension that has prevented me from using the [IMO] more stable Camino browser for the last year (anyone else think the FF2 build is garbage? Bring back v1.5…).

Cue some testing on Monday.

(ps. I also need to try the latest Shiira build)

16 Responses to “you learn something new every day”

  1. mikepower@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 10:39 am #

    Don’t bother testing Camino, Aaron, Firefox extensions will not work on it. I wish they did! I used Camino for ages and only moved to Firefox because I wanted to use couple of essential extensions. I’ve heard this about Camino before and checked it out, only to be disappointed. Although Camino uses the Gecko engine it is actually a Cocoa application so no FF extensions will work with it although on the plus side it does work with the Apple services menu. (unlike FF)Yes FF2 is crap but FF3 (in beta) seems miles better. Unfortunately none of my extensions are compatible with it (yet). Oh for a perfect browser.

  2. mikepower@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 10:39 am #

    Don’t bother testing Camino, Aaron, Firefox extensions will not work on it. I wish they did! I used Camino for ages and only moved to Firefox because I wanted to use couple of essential extensions. I’ve heard this about Camino before and checked it out, only to be disappointed. Although Camino uses the Gecko engine it is actually a Cocoa application so no FF extensions will work with it although on the plus side it does work with the Apple services menu. (unlike FF)Yes FF2 is crap but FF3 (in beta) seems miles better. Unfortunately none of my extensions are compatible with it (yet). Oh for a perfect browser.

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 5:39 pm #

    Thanks Mike.At least that saves me wasting my time applying FF extentions to Camino – bollocks.Had a play with FF3, but not made the jump yet.

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 5:39 pm #

    Thanks Mike.At least that saves me wasting my time applying FF extentions to Camino – bollocks.Had a play with FF3, but not made the jump yet.

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 6:32 pm #

    Just noticed the comments in the article also refer to the Cocoa basis of Camino.

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 6:32 pm #

    Just noticed the comments in the article also refer to the Cocoa basis of Camino.

  7. mikepower@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 6:41 pm #

    Shiira is Cocoa too 😦 I’ve looked at Flock several times since it was launched but I just cant get on with it although lots of people swear by it. I’m sure the main problem with FF revolves around extensions. My son uses FF and has absolutely no problems at all, but he has no extensions enabled. I’m down to just five and I could probably get away with using just one, ScribeFire which is just too damn useful to ditch.

  8. mikepower@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 6:41 pm #

    Shiira is Cocoa too 😦 I’ve looked at Flock several times since it was launched but I just cant get on with it although lots of people swear by it. I’m sure the main problem with FF revolves around extensions. My son uses FF and has absolutely no problems at all, but he has no extensions enabled. I’m down to just five and I could probably get away with using just one, ScribeFire which is just too damn useful to ditch.

  9. sunlituplands@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 10:53 pm #

    Seems that Netscape Navigator operates like Firefox now, and all my FF extensions worked when I tried it. NN loads faster too.

  10. sunlituplands@gmail.com December 16, 2007 at 10:53 pm #

    Seems that Netscape Navigator operates like Firefox now, and all my FF extensions worked when I tried it. NN loads faster too.

  11. mikepower@gmail.com December 17, 2007 at 11:17 am #

    Tom P, I would never have thought of checking out NN, in fact I thought it was defunct. But the extensions work perfectly with it and I am, in fact, posting this comment using it 🙂 I’ll certainly test it out for the rest of the day, at least. Interesting. Thanks for the tip.

  12. mikepower@gmail.com December 17, 2007 at 11:17 am #

    Tom P, I would never have thought of checking out NN, in fact I thought it was defunct. But the extensions work perfectly with it and I am, in fact, posting this comment using it 🙂 I’ll certainly test it out for the rest of the day, at least. Interesting. Thanks for the tip.

  13. jameshigham@mail.com December 17, 2007 at 4:45 pm #

    Keep us up to speed on this.

  14. jameshigham@mail.com December 17, 2007 at 4:45 pm #

    Keep us up to speed on this.

  15. sunlituplands@gmail.com December 18, 2007 at 4:32 pm #

    Mike Power: You’re welcome! Does NN load faster than FF for you too?

  16. sunlituplands@gmail.com December 18, 2007 at 4:32 pm #

    Mike Power: You’re welcome! Does NN load faster than FF for you too?

Leave a Reply

