in rainbows

12 Oct

I have just downloaded the new Radiohead record, In Rainbows.

There is a collectors box-set version and a download-only standard release.

You can name your own price for the download. You could pay £1 or less. I decided that, while Radiohead have produced some of my favourite records, they have also released some absolute tat. I decided to pay £4.00 – and if I like it, I’ll send them some more. If it’s anything like the spunkfest that was Kid A, I’ll probably listen to it once and never touch it again.

in_rainbows

UPDATE: first listen… Yeah it’s quite good. Gloomy, but not wrist slitting bad. Funky at times. Accomplished.

UPDATE2: Yeah it’s really quite good. I very much like 15 Step and House of Cards. It’s moody, obviously, but has moments of genuine beauty.

If this were a doctors check up, and believe me, Radiohead have looked pretty terminal in the past, I’d say this represents full recovery (even if it doesn’t reach the dizzy heights of OK Computer and The Bends).

VERDICT: 9/10. 8/10. Rude Health, indeed.*

*This score represents my own view; so if you buy this record on my recommendation, and you don’t like it: tough. I cannot be held responsible for your piss-poor musical taste

4 Responses to “in rainbows”

  1. theblog@beltoday.com October 12, 2007 at 8:25 pm #

    “I decided that, while Radiohead have produced some of my favourite records, they have also released some absolute tat.”That made me laugh out loud. Sound reasoning, and more than justifies the price you paid for the album.

  2. theblog@beltoday.com October 12, 2007 at 8:25 pm #

    “I decided that, while Radiohead have produced some of my favourite records, they have also released some absolute tat.”That made me laugh out loud. Sound reasoning, and more than justifies the price you paid for the album.

  3. melbonaccolta@aol.com October 16, 2007 at 6:15 pm #

    Been a fan since Creep but now big , big fan On 2nd hearing I am really liking this and think this could rank up there with their best .Think it will get better with every listen.

  4. melbonaccolta@aol.com October 16, 2007 at 6:15 pm #

    Been a fan since Creep but now big , big fan On 2nd hearing I am really liking this and think this could rank up there with their best .Think it will get better with every listen.

Leave a Reply

