the most perfect camera

25 Sep

I have just finished reading this article in last week’s New Yorker. A wonderfully indulgent piece for photography lovers.

This is not just a question of ergonomics, or of the diamond-like sharpness of the lens. Rather, it has to do with the old, bewildering Leica trick: the illusion, fostered by a mere machine, that the world out there is asking to be looked at—to be caught and consumed while it is fresh, like a trout.

I want a Leica M8 Range-finder sooooo much. If only I had a spare £3,000…

I am thinking of settling on a Canon G9. I’m such a martyr. I’d love a DSLR, but I really need a good camera that will slip into my bag. (my current camera)

UPDATE: I have some excellent shots from Greenland that I’ll be uploading soon. Courtesy of Mrs. tyger’s Papa, who’s a sailor.

22 Responses to “the most perfect camera”

  1. ariofarin@web.de September 25, 2007 at 7:44 pm #

    Wicked. Upload them now. Can we steal them?Know what you’re saying about the camera, though. Just had to buy a new generator for the car, so there went my savings…[cue foul curse in Dutch]. The Powershots are good, but you soon find yourself bumping against their [relative] limitations.

  2. ariofarin@web.de September 25, 2007 at 7:44 pm #

    Wicked. Upload them now. Can we steal them?Know what you’re saying about the camera, though. Just had to buy a new generator for the car, so there went my savings…[cue foul curse in Dutch]. The Powershots are good, but you soon find yourself bumping against their [relative] limitations.

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 25, 2007 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey Ario,I’ll get them up tomorrow to my flickr account. Some are awesome. Another sailor took them (so be respectful if you use them), pretty sure he knows what he’s doing – prob DSLR, as some are quite stunning.I think the G9 is borderline Pro spec, at least for a compact. Shoots RAW too.

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 25, 2007 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey Ario,I’ll get them up tomorrow to my flickr account. Some are awesome. Another sailor took them (so be respectful if you use them), pretty sure he knows what he’s doing – prob DSLR, as some are quite stunning.I think the G9 is borderline Pro spec, at least for a compact. Shoots RAW too.

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 25, 2007 at 7:56 pm #

    BTW – have you discovered THE GIMP?Excellent photo software. Screw photoshop. http://www.gimp.org/

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 25, 2007 at 7:56 pm #

    BTW – have you discovered THE GIMP?Excellent photo software. Screw photoshop. http://www.gimp.org/

  7. me@carolinesmailes.co.uk September 25, 2007 at 8:46 pm #

    G9 – is that the one you told me to buy?As need to buy one asap.x

  8. me@carolinesmailes.co.uk September 25, 2007 at 8:46 pm #

    G9 – is that the one you told me to buy?As need to buy one asap.x

  9. anticant@hotmail.co.uk September 26, 2007 at 6:57 am #

    I’m very happy with the Casio EX-S600 which I got on special offer [a third of the list price] direct from Casio recently. Unlike the Canon Powershot – I have an A70 – it’s slim, lightweight, and pocket size slipping easily into a jacket or trouser pocket. It takes videos as well as stills. On a recent flight over the Alps I took some amazingly well defined shots through the plane window which show a lot of detail even through all that toughened and rain-streaked glass.

  10. anticant@hotmail.co.uk September 26, 2007 at 6:57 am #

    I’m very happy with the Casio EX-S600 which I got on special offer [a third of the list price] direct from Casio recently. Unlike the Canon Powershot – I have an A70 – it’s slim, lightweight, and pocket size slipping easily into a jacket or trouser pocket. It takes videos as well as stills. On a recent flight over the Alps I took some amazingly well defined shots through the plane window which show a lot of detail even through all that toughened and rain-streaked glass.

  11. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 7:07 am #

    Caroline,Yeah – the G9 is not the most aesthetically pleasing compact on the market, but form follows function as they say…anticant,Yeah, the Casio you mention is very small and ideal for jacket pockets. I can afford something a little bigger, as I’m already carrying a 12″ Laptop most of the time. Anyway, my Pentax Optio x is small and not too bad. I just don’t like screen-only perspectives. I’d rather have a traditional viewfinder any day.

  12. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 7:07 am #

    Caroline,Yeah – the G9 is not the most aesthetically pleasing compact on the market, but form follows function as they say…anticant,Yeah, the Casio you mention is very small and ideal for jacket pockets. I can afford something a little bigger, as I’m already carrying a 12″ Laptop most of the time. Anyway, my Pentax Optio x is small and not too bad. I just don’t like screen-only perspectives. I’d rather have a traditional viewfinder any day.

  13. jacoblurch@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:19 am #

    I know DSLRs aren’t as convenient as compacts but they are well worth considering. I love my D200

  14. jacoblurch@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:19 am #

    I know DSLRs aren’t as convenient as compacts but they are well worth considering. I love my D200

  15. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:25 am #

    Jams, you bloody name dropper!I’d love a D200 too, but if I mention £800 (body) to Mrs. t, she’d kill me. The G9 has not been sanctioned yet.Some fantastic shots over at your blog.

  16. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:25 am #

    Jams, you bloody name dropper!I’d love a D200 too, but if I mention £800 (body) to Mrs. t, she’d kill me. The G9 has not been sanctioned yet.Some fantastic shots over at your blog.

  17. jacoblurch@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:29 am #

    I could do you a real bargain on a D50 body!

  18. jacoblurch@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:29 am #

    I could do you a real bargain on a D50 body!

  19. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:35 am #

    Any purchase will be post Christmas!But interested if the price is right.

  20. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 26, 2007 at 10:35 am #

    Any purchase will be post Christmas!But interested if the price is right.

  21. felixthecat1@btinternet.com September 29, 2007 at 6:32 am #

    I’v had 5 leica’s in my time. still got my zorki 1 and Nikon F AND F2a But realey it’s the photographer that counts, and the ability to “see”.

  22. felixthecat1@btinternet.com September 29, 2007 at 6:32 am #

    I’v had 5 leica’s in my time. still got my zorki 1 and Nikon F AND F2a But realey it’s the photographer that counts, and the ability to “see”.

Leave a Reply

