times new roman

23 Sep

Recently I have suffered the misfortune of having to use Windows computers again. On several occasions I have also had to use that most hideous of apps, Microsoft Word. My frustration with Word’s I know better than you formatting, has reduced me to tears on more than one occasion.

Why the hell doesn’t the thing remember I don’t want Times New Roman as my default? In the absence of Helvetica, I’ll take Arial or Tahoma – but for fuck’s sake stop reverting to Times at every available opportunity. It makes my eyes bleed.

I’m reminded of one of (the now sadly retired) Mr. Zhisou’s choices for his own personal Room 101 (a place where things are sent never to be seen again): –

    Times New Roman, the devil´s font that always pops back into things you write no matter how many times you format it away.

6 Responses to “times new roman”

  1. jacoblurch@gmail.com September 23, 2007 at 10:00 am #

    I hate Times New Roman too. I have Keratoconus, an serious (some sufferers need corneal grafts) but correctable (contact lenses) eye disorder. Seriffed fonts are harder for me to read. Changing the subject I bet you are happy to have your other half and the sproggies back.

  2. jacoblurch@gmail.com September 23, 2007 at 10:00 am #

    I hate Times New Roman too. I have Keratoconus, an serious (some sufferers need corneal grafts) but correctable (contact lenses) eye disorder. Seriffed fonts are harder for me to read. Changing the subject I bet you are happy to have your other half and the sproggies back.

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 23, 2007 at 10:23 am #

    Aye, the house is much nosier and untidier. But I love them really. :)Sorry to hear about your eye complaint. These goons at Microsoft have a lot to answer for.

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 23, 2007 at 10:23 am #

    Aye, the house is much nosier and untidier. But I love them really. :)Sorry to hear about your eye complaint. These goons at Microsoft have a lot to answer for.

  5. davidlandoncole@gmail.com September 23, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    I’ve asked many times, but never found an answer. Nevertheless, you may be able to enlighten me: why, in MS Word, do you delete a line to find the preceding paragraph has jumped into TNR?Of course, I couldn’t possibly make a plug for OpenOffice.org here by saying that it’s free, in at least two senses of the word. Oh no.xD.

  6. davidlandoncole@gmail.com September 23, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    I’ve asked many times, but never found an answer. Nevertheless, you may be able to enlighten me: why, in MS Word, do you delete a line to find the preceding paragraph has jumped into TNR?Of course, I couldn’t possibly make a plug for OpenOffice.org here by saying that it’s free, in at least two senses of the word. Oh no.xD.

Leave a Reply

