on ming

17 Sep

ming
Photograph: Chris Ison/PA. Source. CC.

I feel for Sir Menzies Campbell. He was a very effective spokesperson for the anti-war movement, and could be relied upon to put the argument across intelligently and concisely, even when most of the mainstream media were in lock-step with the Blair/Bush push for war. He had that rare political quality – he appeared intelligent and genuine.

I have no knowledge of whether, as people have suggested, he was instrumental in the regicide of Charles Kennedy (when the cheery and likeable Scot was bumped for his admitted alcoholism – a move that was a genuine turning point in the modern political dynamic). I’d like to think that Campbell did what he thought was right for the party, rather than any Machiavellian move to seize the crown for himself. I like Ming, even if I’ve taken the piss out of him on occasion for his shaky delivery.

Maybe it’s just because I’m soft and that I have a natural respect for the elderly, but I find it very distasteful to see younger, ambitious politicians plotting against Ming from the shadows. After all, it’s been barely been eighteen months since Campbell assumed the leadership. They, I suppose, have to do what they think is right, but they should remember that they do little for those who feel that behind the cardigan-wearing sheen, the Lib Dems are a rather nasty little party at times.

4 Responses to “on ming”

  1. theblog@beltoday.com September 17, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    First things first,’sheen’ is hardly a word I would associate with any cardigan wearer. Seriously though, I feel sorry for Ming. Even people who would be up in arms at any whiff of discrimination have no trouble making fun of Ming because of his age. That is very unfair.I’m not a fan of Ming at all, but simply because he appears not to have a grasp of any issues other than Iraq. I could be wrong, but that’s the impression I get. As to his shaky performances, I am ever ready to give him a break. I am deeply suspicious of accomplished, polished orators. Who knows what they are hiding beneath all the show? There is something endearing about human frailty, especially in politicians. It reminds us that some of them are from this planet, after all.Having said that, that is as far as my sympathy for Ming goes.

  2. theblog@beltoday.com September 17, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    First things first,’sheen’ is hardly a word I would associate with any cardigan wearer. Seriously though, I feel sorry for Ming. Even people who would be up in arms at any whiff of discrimination have no trouble making fun of Ming because of his age. That is very unfair.I’m not a fan of Ming at all, but simply because he appears not to have a grasp of any issues other than Iraq. I could be wrong, but that’s the impression I get. As to his shaky performances, I am ever ready to give him a break. I am deeply suspicious of accomplished, polished orators. Who knows what they are hiding beneath all the show? There is something endearing about human frailty, especially in politicians. It reminds us that some of them are from this planet, after all.Having said that, that is as far as my sympathy for Ming goes.

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 17, 2007 at 11:55 pm #

    First things first,’sheen’ is hardly a word I would associate with any cardigan wearer. ~ BelAh yes, that was an edit. I replaced ‘liberal sheen’ with cardigan-wearing and only deleted ‘liberal.’ Inexcusable.I think the Libs missed an opportunity. The Orange Bookers could have cleared up. A marriage of social and economic liberalism would have set them apart from the big state lefties in No.10.

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 17, 2007 at 11:55 pm #

    First things first,’sheen’ is hardly a word I would associate with any cardigan wearer. ~ BelAh yes, that was an edit. I replaced ‘liberal sheen’ with cardigan-wearing and only deleted ‘liberal.’ Inexcusable.I think the Libs missed an opportunity. The Orange Bookers could have cleared up. A marriage of social and economic liberalism would have set them apart from the big state lefties in No.10.

Leave a Reply

