plug: live from the co-op-con

13 Sep

Political Penguin is blogging The Co-Operative Party conference. LIVE.

You couldn’t get anymore left-wing, could you? 😉

8 Responses to “plug: live from the co-op-con”

  1. matthew@understated.co.uk September 14, 2007 at 11:04 am #

    Ah, this reminds me of my CWS and Phone Co-op memberships and my love of co-operatives when I was younger.

  2. matthew@understated.co.uk September 14, 2007 at 11:04 am #

    Ah, this reminds me of my CWS and Phone Co-op memberships and my love of co-operatives when I was younger.

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 14, 2007 at 11:05 am #

    Were you an old Red, then?

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 14, 2007 at 11:05 am #

    Were you an old Red, then?

  5. matthew@understated.co.uk September 14, 2007 at 12:52 pm #

    Not really but I was definitely left-leaning. I’ve spent most of life politically confused, tbh. I grew up in the single party state that is the north-east of England, which didn’t help.That’s why I dislike being in a political party: people instantly think I’ve made up my mind on a whole range of issues, when in fact I’m happy to consider life a learning experience.I was definitely big into the idea of co-operatives when I was younger and was quite involved in the Phone Co-op in the early days. I was into all sorts of lefty stuff when I was younger :)Some people could say my love of the open source movement is related, I suppose, but I don’t quite see it that way.I was always conflicted, though, regarding co-operative style groups: nice idea but in practice individuals working for their own benefit seem to get more done. If you put naturally productive, creative people into a co-op, they do disproportionately more work. At least, that’s what I’ve heard from people who’ve been involved in co-ops before.

  6. matthew@understated.co.uk September 14, 2007 at 12:52 pm #

    Not really but I was definitely left-leaning. I’ve spent most of life politically confused, tbh. I grew up in the single party state that is the north-east of England, which didn’t help.That’s why I dislike being in a political party: people instantly think I’ve made up my mind on a whole range of issues, when in fact I’m happy to consider life a learning experience.I was definitely big into the idea of co-operatives when I was younger and was quite involved in the Phone Co-op in the early days. I was into all sorts of lefty stuff when I was younger :)Some people could say my love of the open source movement is related, I suppose, but I don’t quite see it that way.I was always conflicted, though, regarding co-operative style groups: nice idea but in practice individuals working for their own benefit seem to get more done. If you put naturally productive, creative people into a co-op, they do disproportionately more work. At least, that’s what I’ve heard from people who’ve been involved in co-ops before.

  7. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 18, 2007 at 10:17 am #

    Sorry late with the reply. Busy etc. Lost track etc. Apologies etc.I hate being in a political party. But, I want to be part of the process. As best I can. I have just as much vitriol towards the media as I do the political system, so if I’m going to have a voice – I need to choose one of them. I must decide soon ;)I think Open Source is as much a Libertarian movement as it is a leftie one. I once received a very interesting email from a marxist who was shit-hot on IT. He said that no-doubt collectivism is the most efficient economic system, but there has never been the processing power to administer it – hence the Soviet Union bureaucracy creaked and spluttered. He argued that – as Marx himself predicted – capitalism will enable the technological progress to actually make communism a workable reality. CPU technology and software developments will actually mean a huge bureaucratic system can be done without excessive economic resource.Interesting stuff. Probably nonsense, but interesting nonetheless.

  8. aaronsheath@gmail.com September 18, 2007 at 10:17 am #

    Sorry late with the reply. Busy etc. Lost track etc. Apologies etc.I hate being in a political party. But, I want to be part of the process. As best I can. I have just as much vitriol towards the media as I do the political system, so if I’m going to have a voice – I need to choose one of them. I must decide soon ;)I think Open Source is as much a Libertarian movement as it is a leftie one. I once received a very interesting email from a marxist who was shit-hot on IT. He said that no-doubt collectivism is the most efficient economic system, but there has never been the processing power to administer it – hence the Soviet Union bureaucracy creaked and spluttered. He argued that – as Marx himself predicted – capitalism will enable the technological progress to actually make communism a workable reality. CPU technology and software developments will actually mean a huge bureaucratic system can be done without excessive economic resource.Interesting stuff. Probably nonsense, but interesting nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

