the silly season and the big question: laptops or desktops?

2 Aug

It’s the summer… finally. A few days of sun and already my mum has arranged a day at the seaside. Typical. So Saturday, myself, Mrs. tyger, the cubs, Mrs. tyger’s sister (she’s over from Estonia), her daughter, and my parents are decamping to the Lincolnshire coast for the day.

Should be fun, but it’ll probably be stressful, expensive, and hectic. Taking the kids out for the day has become incredibly costly. A round of ice-creams, fish and chips, arcades, cheap tat to take home and break – they all add up. And I’m just a poor writer.

And of course there is the other head-ache… other people. There is a certain sort of obnoxious cretin that frequents the East Coast – and more specifically, Skegness. I’d call them Chavs if that word weren’t such a vulgar excuse for lazy class-snobbery. I’m talking about the noisy, passive-aggressive, tracksuit wearing fucking morons who trundle around the place with too much jewellery on, swearing at each other in front my small children.

Now as you can tell, I don’t really have problem with swearing. Not in the right context at least. This blog is an adult one, I have a content policy. But when you’re minding your own business, busily stopping your kids from helping themselves to unpaid-for candy in a sweetshop, you don’t need a couple of overweight troglodytes shouting “fuck off you fat cow” at each other. It’s just not on.

Another aspect of the summer is the politics. Or rather the lack of it. It really couldn’t be worse for the Tories. The political hacks are bored out of their skulls, and all they have to pick over is the desperate state of David Cameron’s leadership. All Brown has to do is keep his head down and watch the Tories tear strips off each other. Rather makes you wonder that the Blair-Brown handover was terrifically well-planned, don’t you think?

While lesser political bloggers will be desperately concocting stories where non exist, this one will be enjoying the sun, hankering down and finishing some work, reading, and catching up with some splendid tea he was given as a gift. I’m not insulting my readers with sub-standard twittering (well, not too much anyway).

Anyway, I was having an email-chat with the Penguin today, and as he is also reviewing the Toshiba Tecra laptop, we got onto the subject of laptops vs. desktops. I have been thinking about the subject, as until recently, I have been a sole-user of notebooks. Then, a few weeks ago, we got our desktop harddrive saved from a rather nasty infection. We now have our desktop back, and pretty soon I installed Linux on it and I’ve hardly been off the thing since (much to the chagrin of an annoyed Mrs. tyger. Sorry babe).

So, what’s the best: laptop or desktop?

If you’re a techie, you probably prefer the better performance (for your money) and customisation you get with a desktop. You like the fact that you can replace the graphics card yourself. And because you only usually leave your bedroom to get more Doritos from the kitchen, what’s the point of a laptop?

Personally I still prefer laptops. But I really can’t see the point in having a 17” laptop. You can get incredibly small and stylish desktops with flat screens, so why would have an expensive laptop that’s so unwieldy? Get a desktop and save your money.

If you ask me (which you didn’t, but I’m going to tell you anyway), laptops should be ultra-portable. A 15.4” screen really is the limit. But infinitely preferable is a 13.33”, or even better, an 11.1” screen (like this ASUS one I have my eye on, for instance). They should be light, and have a spec that allows good basic performance with long battery-life. If you want to handle huge processes, and render graphics, a laptop is probably not the best tool.

So it’s horses for courses. Professionally I’m a writer who loves travelling, so it’s an easy choice: I have a small, low-spec laptop that’s happy to surf the net and power my word-processor. But for any heavy computing (such as working on photos or web-design) I use a powerful desktop. Neither is necessarily the better. They each have their place.

Glad we got to the bottom of that, eh?

2 Responses to “the silly season and the big question: laptops or desktops?”

  1. lillythegun@hotmail.com August 19, 2007 at 9:16 pm #

    Thank you for your view on laptops. I am in the process of buying two of them to my sons. Get totally confused with all that is on the market. A lot of them also weights a lot! Somthing to think about definitely when they are going to carry the laptops around in their backpack along with books.ThxLilly

  2. lillythegun@hotmail.com August 19, 2007 at 9:16 pm #

    Thank you for your view on laptops. I am in the process of buying two of them to my sons. Get totally confused with all that is on the market. A lot of them also weights a lot! Somthing to think about definitely when they are going to carry the laptops around in their backpack along with books.ThxLilly

Leave a Reply

