hung over

14 Jul

When you have two kids your social life takes a kicking.

Even going to the movies entails a gargantuan level of preparation. So the parents of young children tend to end up at home most nights, sat there, hoping the sprogs sleep through the night, or at best, don’t vomit all over themselves. This is the life we choose. And we do it for Queen and Country.

Last night was a rare night out. It was a social event that I had to attend for work. The wine was free…

I’m not too proud to say I have been up since 5.30. I have been sick twice. And I have a throbbing headache that really must bugger off before my nine o’clock appointment.

I just don’t seem to be able to take alcohol anymore. When I was a student I could take my drink. I could mix cocktails, wine, beer, and chasers. No problem. Now if I follow a “swift half” with a bowl of sherry trifle, I’m throwing up in the hedgerows, telling everyone I love them, and falling asleep on the night bus. I just can’t do it anymore. I’m getting old.

12 Responses to “hung over”

  1. pepeperez67@hotmail.com July 14, 2007 at 9:14 am #

    Experience is the best teacher, Tyger. Mixing up drinks must be from weaker to stronger, otherwise you are bound to feel like you did.

  2. pepeperez67@hotmail.com July 14, 2007 at 9:14 am #

    Experience is the best teacher, Tyger. Mixing up drinks must be from weaker to stronger, otherwise you are bound to feel like you did.

  3. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk July 14, 2007 at 9:23 am #

    No sympathy, serves you right you dirty stop-out. It also seems to have affected your normally high standard of grammar which appears to have gone to pot. Don’t do any copyrighting today ;)That said, you’re completely right, I woke up with a right stinking headache/hangover this morning too. The only difference is that I hadn’t even had the enjoyment of consuming any alcohol at all, definitely getting old too.

  4. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk July 14, 2007 at 9:23 am #

    No sympathy, serves you right you dirty stop-out. It also seems to have affected your normally high standard of grammar which appears to have gone to pot. Don’t do any copyrighting today ;)That said, you’re completely right, I woke up with a right stinking headache/hangover this morning too. The only difference is that I hadn’t even had the enjoyment of consuming any alcohol at all, definitely getting old too.

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com July 14, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    Jose,Wise advice, old friend. I’m not drinking alcohol for a while.PP,Ah, yes, a few changes made. I’ll make a promise not to do anything of note on the copy front.-I am battling the hangover with oven-hot stonebaked bread (bought directly from a Fine Foods shop in Newark), butter, and off-the-bone ham (bought from a deli also in Newark).Oh, and a large mug of freshly brewed coffee.I’m feeling delicate. I need to be treated nicely.

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com July 14, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    Jose,Wise advice, old friend. I’m not drinking alcohol for a while.PP,Ah, yes, a few changes made. I’ll make a promise not to do anything of note on the copy front.-I am battling the hangover with oven-hot stonebaked bread (bought directly from a Fine Foods shop in Newark), butter, and off-the-bone ham (bought from a deli also in Newark).Oh, and a large mug of freshly brewed coffee.I’m feeling delicate. I need to be treated nicely.

  7. jacoblurch@gmail.com July 14, 2007 at 10:26 am #

    Hah I f you think things are bad now, just think what your hangovers will be like when you’re 44! Believe me it gets worse…

  8. jacoblurch@gmail.com July 14, 2007 at 10:26 am #

    Hah I f you think things are bad now, just think what your hangovers will be like when you’re 44! Believe me it gets worse…

  9. aaronsheath@gmail.com July 14, 2007 at 10:50 am #

    There is always someone worse off, isn’t there? ;)Feeling a wee bit better now I have a stomach full of tasties. I think I could even manage a cup of tea now.I’m a real fighter, as you can probably tell.

  10. aaronsheath@gmail.com July 14, 2007 at 10:50 am #

    There is always someone worse off, isn’t there? ;)Feeling a wee bit better now I have a stomach full of tasties. I think I could even manage a cup of tea now.I’m a real fighter, as you can probably tell.

  11. pete_prescription@yahoo.co.uk July 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm #

    Thing is tyg, if you hardly get the chance to have a drink these days, then it is bound to affect you more: tolerance and all that. I often have phases where I leave the stuff well alone (through choice, not due to the demands of having a family etc) and, even after just two or three weeks of abstinence, a couple of pints is enough to make me feel pretty groggy come the next morning. Which makes it all the more scary to think what the booze is doing to you when you’ve developed a tolerance for it.

  12. pete_prescription@yahoo.co.uk July 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm #

    Thing is tyg, if you hardly get the chance to have a drink these days, then it is bound to affect you more: tolerance and all that. I often have phases where I leave the stuff well alone (through choice, not due to the demands of having a family etc) and, even after just two or three weeks of abstinence, a couple of pints is enough to make me feel pretty groggy come the next morning. Which makes it all the more scary to think what the booze is doing to you when you’ve developed a tolerance for it.

Leave a Reply

