the bigPC goes linux

12 Jul

Taking the “bigPC” over to a Linux-based OS has been the plan for a while. Being a regular Mac user, I have always had a loathing for the Windows operating system, but the problem with software compatibility has always meant I have never taken the plunge. Even now I still have to use XP (which to be fair, is a decent and reasonably stable OS) for Sage accounts and a few other apps.

Luckily for me, “bigPC” has two separate 200GB hard drives, so Linux-nut Political Penguin advised me to use one for Windows and one for Linux – a trouble-free way to dual-boot, without the risk of losing data if things go tits up. I now have bigPC running Linux, with the option of a simple cable-swap to boot XP for my finance software.

Sweet.

Leave a Reply

