kindly blogger helps tygerland

26 Jun

403 denial

After yesterday’s spamming assault, The Political Penguin offered to give me a crash-course in .htaccess files. I now have a database of dodgy IP addresses that are refused access to my server (never mind the opportunity to clog up my site with SPAM, they can’t even get in!).

No longer will Spamming Bastards be able to suck up all my bandwidth, ruining the experience for genuine readers. It all got me thinking about creating a network of bloggers who share suspect IP addresses (maybe as a forwarded txt doc), but maybe I’m getting ahead of myself.

Anyway, thanks to the Penguin. Much appreciated.

On a personal note; I’m busy again this week with clients, but I hope to get a few things up, as and when.

10 Responses to “kindly blogger helps tygerland”

  1. johninnit@yahoo.co.uk June 26, 2007 at 11:08 am #

    Well done to you & Penguin on defeating the spammers (for now!). Not a bad idea, maybe the B4L forum might be a good place to store updates on this, as it’s a sort-of-private area?

  2. johninnit@yahoo.co.uk June 26, 2007 at 11:08 am #

    Well done to you & Penguin on defeating the spammers (for now!). Not a bad idea, maybe the B4L forum might be a good place to store updates on this, as it’s a sort-of-private area?

  3. aaronsheath@gmail.com June 26, 2007 at 4:40 pm #

    Not a bad idea. I may drop Andrew an email.Mind you, PP is the brains behind this duo. I’m only on board for my winning smile and long eyelashes.;o)

  4. aaronsheath@gmail.com June 26, 2007 at 4:40 pm #

    Not a bad idea. I may drop Andrew an email.Mind you, PP is the brains behind this duo. I’m only on board for my winning smile and long eyelashes.;o)

  5. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk June 26, 2007 at 10:11 pm #

    Perhaps a shared/registered private Wiki system would offer the best structure of sharing such information? Could easily be run out of a specific logon section from a single website site.

  6. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk June 26, 2007 at 10:11 pm #

    Perhaps a shared/registered private Wiki system would offer the best structure of sharing such information? Could easily be run out of a specific logon section from a single website site.

  7. aaronsheath@gmail.com June 27, 2007 at 8:43 am #

    You lost me at ‘perhaps…’Actually, that’s not true (for once). Yeah, a Wiki site would work.

  8. aaronsheath@gmail.com June 27, 2007 at 8:43 am #

    You lost me at ‘perhaps…’Actually, that’s not true (for once). Yeah, a Wiki site would work.

  9. anja@illmann-walker.com June 27, 2007 at 6:37 pm #

    Scary thought – PP=the brains…. 😀

  10. anja@illmann-walker.com June 27, 2007 at 6:37 pm #

    Scary thought – PP=the brains…. 😀

Leave a Reply

