mawkishness gone spectacular

23 Jun

Can someone tell me why the new Wembley Stadium is hosting a concert in memory of Princess Diana?

What the fuck is wrong with this country?

We have lost so many truly great Britons in the last decade or so, and yet we mourn weekly, the passing of a single talentless woman. Seriously, what the fuck did Diana achieve? As far as I can remember: she got photographed, got married, got photographed, got laid, got photographed, got laid, got photographed with some African kiddies, got laid some more, died.

This country should join the real world. Normal, developed countries get on with life. They don’t constantly pick at a festering scab of mawkish self-pity.

Diana was a wife and a mother. Nothing more. Her place in Modern British History should be little more than a footnote, and yet she dominates British culture as the patron saint of vacuity.

I for one, won’t be watch Lily Allen et al as they ponce around the stage wallowing in nostalgia. I would rather have boiling jam poured down my trousers, than be a part of this travesty of taste and morality. But maybe I’m missing the point, maybe this concert is a fitting tribute to the People’s Princess? After all, what could be more poignant than a bunch of talentless, self-promoting media-whores, celebrating the life of their standard-bearer?

*groan*

6 Responses to “mawkishness gone spectacular”

  1. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am #

    Not a Diana fan I take it? Good on you.

  2. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am #

    Not a Diana fan I take it? Good on you.

  3. mineytodd@btinternet.com June 23, 2007 at 10:19 pm #

    Oh, well said, Tyger !And thank you for saying it.

  4. mineytodd@btinternet.com June 23, 2007 at 10:19 pm #

    Oh, well said, Tyger !And thank you for saying it.

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com June 24, 2007 at 8:52 am #

    Is it obvious?I have nothing against the woman, or her strange sons, but I see little reason why her life is more valuable than anyone else’s. When I look for a life to lionise, I’ll look for a scientist, a composer, a writer or suchlike, not an over-privileged sulk, who spent most of her life bouncing between various men.It’s not a class thing, it’s a matter of me having a modicum of self-respect. My problem is with the Diana phenomenon, not her per se.

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com June 24, 2007 at 8:52 am #

    Is it obvious?I have nothing against the woman, or her strange sons, but I see little reason why her life is more valuable than anyone else’s. When I look for a life to lionise, I’ll look for a scientist, a composer, a writer or suchlike, not an over-privileged sulk, who spent most of her life bouncing between various men.It’s not a class thing, it’s a matter of me having a modicum of self-respect. My problem is with the Diana phenomenon, not her per se.

Leave a Reply

