Blair to go on June 27th

10 May

I have always had a love-hate relationship with Blair. So I’ll need time to digest this news and comment fully.

I’m a Blairite in many respects. I believe in reform of the public services and, believe it or not, I’m a supporter of military intervention when a humanitarian crisis is ongoing – however, I did not feel this criterion was met in 2003 with regard to Iraq, and this colossal misjudgement has coloured my opinion of Mr. Blair ever since.

I also feel that in many ways Blair has failed to deliver domestically. I am aware that the 24-hour media circus puts cabinet politicians under enormous pressure, yet I still feel that Blair’s style-over-substance approach has offered little value for money.

A record amount of cash has been pumped into the public sphere, but the results have not been good enough. Progressive Politics is not just about higher wages for public workers, it about better government – at every level.

8 Responses to “Blair to go on June 27th”

  1. calumcarrstake@googlemail.com November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am #

    AaronTo describe my views I would change only one word in your first sentence as follows:“I have always had a hate-hate relationship with Blair. So I’ll need time to digest this news and comment fully.”On my blog I have posted my “tribute” to Blair and my “endorsement” of Brown.

  2. calumcarrstake@googlemail.com November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am #

    AaronTo describe my views I would change only one word in your first sentence as follows:“I have always had a hate-hate relationship with Blair. So I’ll need time to digest this news and comment fully.”On my blog I have posted my “tribute” to Blair and my “endorsement” of Brown.

  3. pepeperez67@hotmail.com May 11, 2007 at 5:01 am #

    I am afraid his wrongs will never be overshadowed by his rights. But here again his doings have been backed by his cabinet, so anybody remaining is as much blameable as he is.Full renewal is needed in Labour.

  4. pepeperez67@hotmail.com May 11, 2007 at 5:01 am #

    I am afraid his wrongs will never be overshadowed by his rights. But here again his doings have been backed by his cabinet, so anybody remaining is as much blameable as he is.Full renewal is needed in Labour.

  5. aaronsheath@gmail.com May 12, 2007 at 7:11 am #

    Calum,You’re a cheeky man! lolI’ll have a mozy over to your blog today.Jose,Cabinet government has been non-existant under Blair – at least it has since before Iraq when Robin Cook left.

  6. aaronsheath@gmail.com May 12, 2007 at 7:11 am #

    Calum,You’re a cheeky man! lolI’ll have a mozy over to your blog today.Jose,Cabinet government has been non-existant under Blair – at least it has since before Iraq when Robin Cook left.

  7. pepeperez67@hotmail.com May 13, 2007 at 6:09 pm #

    One more reason to be suspicious.

  8. pepeperez67@hotmail.com May 13, 2007 at 6:09 pm #

    One more reason to be suspicious.

Leave a Reply

