BlackBerry trouble

18 Apr

I don’t know what the hell is wrong with my new BlackBerry. I have registered it and contacted Vodafone several times to have the Service Book (the settings file) sent to the handset. Still nothing. I have tried countless times online, too. Nothing.

I don’t know if there is a problem with the system or there is something wrong with the set-up on the phone, but this is incredibly frustrating. The Muppets at the Vodafone call-centres are no use whatsoever, and just keep promising to send out more Service Books to my uninterested device.

Without the ‘Service Book’ installed the handset is unable to communicate with the BlackBerry network, and my emails are not received.

The idea of having a BlackBerry was to have email on the move, to help with the blog and managing business projects, yet all I have is a fat, useless cell-phone.

News reports suggest that the networks are playing up in the States and Canada, but the UK is supposedly unaffected.

Help!

10 Responses to “BlackBerry trouble”

  1. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk April 18, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    Probably not the time to mention it but if you’re after a box standard system without too much techiness involved then why don’t you get a ‘6’ or ‘N’ series Nokia and simply hook up using it as a modem?I’m biased of course, I just think Blackberry’s are over-rated and I’ve never actually seen much use for them myself.

  2. fish@politicalpenguin.org.uk April 18, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    Probably not the time to mention it but if you’re after a box standard system without too much techiness involved then why don’t you get a ‘6’ or ‘N’ series Nokia and simply hook up using it as a modem?I’m biased of course, I just think Blackberry’s are over-rated and I’ve never actually seen much use for them myself.

  3. andrew@skuds.co.uk April 18, 2007 at 11:10 pm #

    Might this have something to do with it?http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6568191.stm

  4. andrew@skuds.co.uk April 18, 2007 at 11:10 pm #

    Might this have something to do with it?http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6568191.stm

  5. andrew@skuds.co.uk April 18, 2007 at 11:12 pm #

    Oops… I didn’t see the end of your post.I have been without my Blackberry for three years now and I still miss it!

  6. andrew@skuds.co.uk April 18, 2007 at 11:12 pm #

    Oops… I didn’t see the end of your post.I have been without my Blackberry for three years now and I still miss it!

  7. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 19, 2007 at 8:22 am #

    PP,I was looking at the E Nokia, the big one with Wi-Fi, but in hotels a lot at the moment and have several projects that I need to keep on top of.Skuds,Sorted now. Problem at Vodafone. Are you shocked? Idiots.About a hundred service books have just been dumped on the phone.

  8. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 19, 2007 at 8:22 am #

    PP,I was looking at the E Nokia, the big one with Wi-Fi, but in hotels a lot at the moment and have several projects that I need to keep on top of.Skuds,Sorted now. Problem at Vodafone. Are you shocked? Idiots.About a hundred service books have just been dumped on the phone.

  9. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 19, 2007 at 8:29 am #

    Lovely emails… so brilliant!

  10. aaronsheath@gmail.com April 19, 2007 at 8:29 am #

    Lovely emails… so brilliant!

Leave a Reply

